Arctic Council Showcase

Wednesday, May 10, 2017
8:00 am to 11:45 am
Davis Concert Hall, UAF Campus

Speakers will present projects delivered during the U.S. Chairmanship, with Alaska leaders interpreting the implications for and importance to the state. Moderated by Brian Rogers, Karen Perdue and Craig Fleener, in cooperation with and input from Alaska community, business, policy and traditional leaders.

8:00 AM   Doors Open

8:30 AM   Welcome

  • Drue Pearce and Karen Perdue, Co-Chairs, Program Committee

      State of Alaska introduction

  • Craig Fleener, Office of the Governor

8:45 AM   Working Group Outcomes

  • Renée Sauvé, Chair, Protection of the Arctic Marine Environment 

  • Roberta Burns, Chair, Sustainable Development Working Group 

  • Amy Merten, Chair, Emergency Preparedness, Prevention and Response 

  • Ulrik Westman, Chair, Arctic Contaminants Action Programme 

  • Martin Forsius, Chair, Arctic Monitoring and Assessment Program 

  • Reidar Hindrum, Chair, Conservation of Arctic Flora and Fauna 

10:30 AM     Break

10:45 AM     Tina Pidgeon, Executive Vice President, GCI; Alaska Arctic Council Host Committee

      Task Force and Expert Group Outcomes​

  • Evan Bloom, Co-Chair, Scientific Cooperation Task Force (SCTF

  • Marcus Carson, Arctic Resilience Report (ARR

  • Joel Clement, Arctic Resilience Action Framework 

11:45 PM    Announcing the I AM INUIT exhibit and reception

  • Jimmy Stotts, Inuit Circumpolar Council